Spec is without competition my favorite class-D amplification. Not only that, let’s just say amplifiers without tubes, that’s how good they are. So when Spec introduce two new models, I dribble at their doorstep. And now they grace Casa Rognlien….

P1040412

At the same time as they introduce the two models, three of the previous ones leaves the portfolio. Most importantly, my own beloved RSA M3EX is now history, superseded by the all new RSA M99. That leaves three integrated Real Sound Amplifiers (RSA); the new 777EX, the M99 and the top model F33EX.  The latter was an ear opener of epic dimensions, my own M3 is also way up there, but still can’t convey the magic from the top model. So the question is how these new models fare, compared to both the ultimate solution, and those who have been left behind…

First I need to address a phenomenon that I guess will put some people off, since the marketing strategy in the house of Spec seems to have taken a rather strange turn somewhere. I’ll quote from their home page:

An amplifier is a musical instrument

At the core of our concepts is the idea that the amplifier is a musical instrument. By supporting the chassis with a combination of woods, RSA-M99 reproduces a beautiful sound like a genuine musical instrument.

A wide, solid spruce board is closely attached to the entire bottom surface of the chassis. Spruce is the same type of wood used to build violins.

Wooden feet of maple with hickory embedded in the center. These foot pieces are designed in such a way that only the hickory located in the center is grounded.

Wooden soundboard with wooden feet vibrate with the audio signal playing a natural sound.

No, Spec, an amplifier is anything but a musical instrument. The listener does not at all want to listen to an interpretation and colored musical piece, played through a different musical instrument than the one on the original recording. An amplifier is supposed to make the music come alive in the listening room, and nothing else. So OK, I may accept that the wood can have some impact on the sound, but then I suggest it removes unwanted resonances, instead of introducing new ones. That said; Spec has of course hit the bulls eye, their amps do not resonate or vibrate in any way, so let’s just pretend the lyrics above is the result of a weird, Japanese sense of humor. Natural sound, however. Me oh my, this is something to write home about, these amplifiers deliver the goods, do not ever doubt just that.

P1040426

The core of the Spec technology is their way of implementing the class D technology, see illustration:

Although PWM may look like a digitalization, it is not. This is a fully analogue amplifier principle, with short signal path, and a limited number of high quality audio grade components. The RSA 777EX has a switch mode power supply, though, where the M99 utilizes an R-core heavy trafo solution. I’ll return to the sound differences later, here I just want to add that there is more to it than the eye can see, because the M99 is obviously a more muscular “musical instrument” than the little sister, being able to drive even rather difficult speaker loads.

P1040419

Let’s talk about the Triple7, first. A 2 x 50 Watt design, weighing in at 7 kilos. Simple and small, 3 RCA and one XLR in, plus dedicated headphone amp with 3,5 mm plug on the front (speaker output can be switched off). A challenging unit, this. Also on the predecessor, the 717, I struggled to find suitable speakers, this time I had a slightly different choice of brands, and had a fight to find good partners. What I felt all too strongly on every speaker I tried, was that there was no grunt, no dynamic power at hand, even if I still could hear that the potential was obvious. The sound was smooth and detailed, great timbral qualities, but weak. Every time a crescendo came along, I was left with a feeling of something missing. Also, on piano notes, it was lacking the attack and dynamics from the strings and and hammers. Slightly frustrated I dig deep into my collection, putting my old, simple Klipsch B3 up on the stands And, hallelujah sisters and brothers, salvation was gracing my living room! A few amplifiers in the world blows pure magic into this rather cheap design, making them explode, breathe both fire and ice, conveying life and sprinkle details like snow in a cold winter night. And wow, does the Spec 777 make the B3’s come alive! After my doubts about the power of this amplifier, the result came as a shock. What a combination!

P1040420

So I touched the bull by the horn immediately, putting “Night walker” by the Danish group Trentemøller in the player. Hah! I’ve played this melody a countless number of times, but still the combination of the lightweight Spec and the oldish and cheapish speaker absolutely blew me away. Fabulous soundscapes, deep and powerful bass notes; shut your eyes and tell me that this is a standmount speaker driven by a 2 x 50 watt amp at 7 kilo match weight. No way, it’s impossible. But still, it is true. There is power at hand, people, just don’t ask me how this happened. This amplifier, that so easily was humbled by other speakers, suddenly had full, brutal control. So I just threw more and more fire and fury at it, forcing it to play enormous musical pieces, and it never failed to deliver. Best described by “Nitro Junkie” by Gothic Storm, and, if you don’t know what I mean by the expression “breathing fire”, have a listen to this. What a demonstration of sheer, ruthless and unbeatable power!

P1040413

The cool thing is that this amplifier also has several other just as important characteristics, not least timbral qualities, easily audible while playing good jazz recordings. That brings us to the Dutch company STS Recordings and their series of recordings of Dutch Jazz Legends, where Garner – Burke plays the old classic “Misty”. Here, the Spec gives a demonstration of the “chameleon effect”, as the expression is so totally different from previous music example, clearer than anything, this proves that the amp itself is not coloring the result. So laidback, at the same time so present and vibrant. The horns have their character fully laid out, while the piano sounds sparkling and dynamic, but still silently lurks in the background. Lovely.

This behavior is also present through the headphone output, which indeed is a great feature. I have heard good integrated headphone amps from the likes of Naim and McIntosh, but the one in this Spec amplifier really holds its own. Through the very good Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro (the 250 Ohm version, the others are not nearly that good), all recordings really shine. Dio and “Sign of the southern cross” isn’t really such a good recording to say the least, but the Spec know how to handle difficult visitors. The rhythmically strong, but still elegant way of conveying music, carries this rough recording safely through to the listener. Both brutal and smooth at the same time. A genius combination, to put it short.

P1040417

Given you find the right speaker to match this small Spec RSA 777EX, you never need to look back. An absolutely stunning amplifier, both through speaker output and with good headphones. I suggest speakers from brands as Audio Note, some Tannoy models, some Klipsch models, Kudos and Audivector, to name a few. If it sounds weak and not very dynamic in your system, a different pair of speakers will solve the problems, I promise you. With that out of the way, the Spec RSA 777EX will produce an endless series of great musical experiences on all types of music and all types of recordings. It will shock you, it will touch your emotions, it will convince you, and win you over. A totally surprising and extreme amplifier, as soon as you have found the right partners. What can I say, I am in love with this small thing!

P1040423

So what happens then, when we jump up the ladder, and engages the way more substantial RSA M99? It may seem hard to believe, but Spec has even a few more tricks up its sleeve. But wait for it, first I like to say a little about the more superficial differences. First, The M99 weighs more than double than the small sibling. Then we have en extra XLR input. An important difference is that the M99 also can be used as power amp, through a small switch on the rear plate. I use this feature rather often on my own amp, as that makes a reasonable remote control much easier, since I have an APL DAC / pre in front. The switch can also remove the slightly sharpish light around the knobs on the facia, for relaxed night listening. I wander if the M99 also uses output transformers, as there’s a closed box near the speaker posts, with a substantial weight.

But let’s jump to the sound, and first talk a little about the differences from the triple7. Most importantly, the M99 is a powerhouse, it comes across w-a-a-a-y bigger than the moderate 2 x 60 Watts indicates. None of the matching challenges so obvious on the little guy, are present here. You can drive even rather difficult loads with ease and gusto, still I normally prefer efficient, easy loads, as I feel they easier conveys an open, rhythmic presence. Further the M99 is a tad more open, especially evident in the midrange, where the mentioned Dio recording becomes even more enjoyable, even if I nearly can’t understand how that it is possible. And, of course I must say a little regarding differences from the predecessor, the RSA M3EX. Not very big, but the M99 feels even more powerful, slightly darker voiced, even more vivid and with higher “foot-tapping” abilities. There’s still a significant step up to the top model, the RSA F33EX, mostly this is about timbral qualities and, again, even greater feeling of sheer, brutal power on the uppermost Spec model. One of the rally important features of the Spec amplifiers is their “omnivorous nature”; they play anything with ease, totally changing from a nice, relaxed performer one moment, to a monster the next. Just like the best of valve amplifiers. It just never pushes its own nature into the expression, it just conveys the musical message. Just like it should.

P1040424

On classical music, I have had a few experiences of watershed character; when listening to the Spec RSA F33EX kicking the hell out of a pair of Tannoy DC10t playing “Holiday Morning” by Claude Debussy, I was totally flabbergasted. The combination of raw power and extreme refinement was addictive as any known substance I have come across in my life. Can the new M99 copy that? My M3 surely can’t. On the power aspect, the M99 is very close to the F33, no doubt. It is also slightly better than my M3 regarding “being there”, in this case “there” is Cincinnati Orchestral Hall, and, well, it is absolutely an obvious leap closer to the top model. In other words, and astonishing performance, a display of the combination of power and delicacy, that just a very few amplifiers in the world are capable of. Impressive and beautiful at the same time.

Back to jazz, Radka Toneff’s legendary recording “Fairytale” breathes life and vibrancy when Spec M99 happily plays it. The emotional contents are obvious, I can only think of valve amplifiers that can do this as good as we can hear in this set-up. The voice floats in open air, the piano resounds into eternity. The same can be said about “Blues in orbit” by Duke Ellington, we’re beamed to a different place and time when this historic recording graces our listening room.

P1040422

Again change of scene, the enormous epos “A Dark Knigt”, Hans Zimmer’s movie music, thunders through the listening room, dark and threatening. Not a microscopic sign of control loss, this is a sheer demonstration of power. It just can’t be done so much better, and then I think I have said the most.

This feeling of limitless power is of course not real. Bear in mind that forces of nature can’t be outwit by Spec, either. So my clear advise is to choose speakers that are fairly easy to drive and control. I have a weak point regarding the Norwegian Doxa 8.2 Signature, that fit hand in glove with the Spec M99 amplifier. Then you can fully exploit all its abilities, all the way from the thundering bass, via the open and communicative midrange, up to the silky, delicate treble. On top of that you can see the enormous soundscapes in front of you, pinpointed, huge. Top it by raw dynamics, and most is said. Now, there are many other good speakers to choose from, just be sure you think high quality, these amplifiers deserve it. I must say, however, that the Klipsch B3 / Spec 777EX combination was a very interesting escapade that I really can recommend as an entertaining evening, without costing an arm and a leg.

P1040427

So, if you have made it this far, I guess you have an idea where we are going with this. Spec still comes across as unique amplifiers, carving out a niche of their own, more or less. This is class D done right, these amplifiers are masterpieces, artistry with sovereign, everlasting quality. They might seem to carry a heavy price tag, that goes for both the amplifiers, actually, but when you are overcome by the fantastic mix of strengths of these units, you will find the money, and live happily ever after. Again I have enjoyed each and every second with Spec amplifiers, so of course I will recommend all serious music lovers to have a listen to these absolutely excellent hifi components.

 

Spec RSA 777EX integrated amplifier, 2 x 50 Watt, NOK 39 900,- (approx. 4100 €)

Spec RSA M99 integrated amplifier, 2 x 60 Watt, NOK 105 000,- (approx. 10 800 €)

Import Norway: Bebop Hifi

 

 

21 thoughts on “Spec me up!

  1. Thanks for review on Spec amplification, Own RSA the 717EX, Yes I faced same issue of pairing the speakers I owned, Amphion, Totem, Triangle, Scansonic, ATC they were not dynamic, felt it is too soft and too warm.
    Then tried with Audio Note AX-2; wonderful combination, even Harbeth C7 works good.
    SPEC amplification is not fatigue, misses Tube magic by very little percentage though.

    Like

  2. Your review made me believe that I have capability of distinguishing the sound on various speakers and electronics, however it does take quite bit of time,your review is spot on.

    I do have question; what cables were paired for review?

    Like

    1. Hi Murgesh J,

      Being a hifi-reviewer, I guess I have a rather agnostic look on cables… But I do use them, of course. 🙂
      Signal cables… (wait, I must walk over to my set up, to have look behind it….)… Audio Note, Black Rhodium and some cables from the professional market (Monacor). Loudspeaker cables mostly a no longer existing producer called DBL from Norway. Heavy copper cables, that is. But also screened cables from Chord.

      You definitely have the ability to distinguish differences between speakers, electronics may be slightly harder, but when you know your room and set-up, + not change more than one item at the time, that too, is pretty straight forwards. 🙂

      rognlien

      Like

    1. Hi Murgesh,
      I would say all of them, actually! 🙂 Personally I have a very good feeling for the SR3 Signature, as I feel they are good value for money, but in general all of the models will work fine with the upper models from Spec.
      Note that I’m relating to the upper Spec models then; regarding the 777 you must try before you split with your money, as they really need an easy to drive partner. AudioVector’s are easy load, though, the upper models drive them with ease, but I am in doubt regarding the 777, as I haven’t tried that combination.

      rognlien

      Like

  3. Hi Roglien,
    Thanks, today I had chance to listen Signature and Avantgrade,
    Avantradgrade sounded better however the high frequency is bit hot when compared to Signature.

    Like

    1. Of course there are some advantages with the Avantgarde; however my opinion is that the characteristics from the tweeter may cause some small challenges that you can avoid on the simpler model. Besides, there’s a rather significant price difference between the two models.
      That said, the Avantgarde is a better speaker all over, anything else would be strange. 🙂

      rognlien

      Like

  4. Hi Rognlien,
    Sorry for spelling your name incorrect in previous response. the voice were sweet and focused and bass had body, had taken Spec RSA 717 to get actual characteristic, before that the Signature was paired with Moon amplification which had good impact.

    Spec was bit soft when compared to Moon.
    But I liked Spec, with Moon it was too clinical,

    Like

  5. Hi Rognlien, I just bought a pair of KEF R300 to replace my old Infinity Kappa 200. My current amplification is Naim NAIT5i (italic) and I am looking to upgrade the amplification. Do you think the 777EX will match the KEF?

    Like

    1. Arnold,
      First, congrats with fine new speakers! 🙂
      Regarding the 777EX I would be cautious; that amplifier is rather particurlar about what speakers it will blow life into. Your Niam is a splendid amp, to improve from that level, you would need to use one of the heavy Spec’s, I’m afraid.
      For the Kef, three suggestions instead:
      Naim Supernait: Does everything 5i does, but with more power and gusto
      Leema Tucana: Incredibly lively, tough and entertaing amplifier
      Heed LaGrange: Involving and bold, wonderful midrange, sounds stronger that the 60 Watt indicates

      rognlien

      Like

  6. Dear Sir,
    Partly due to our positive reviews purchased a SPEC (after a Leben CS600 …)
    I am very happy with my SPEC RSA-M99 (Graham LS5/9 speakers) but now I have an annoying problem …
    With my SPEC RSA-M99 connected to an Allnic H-1500MKII+ tube phono amplifier, I have too high hum noise problems.
    There are zero hum issues with my other devices (cd, streamer), perfect connection there.
    The Rega Planar8 turntable is also not the problem, this was clear after extensive testing (cables etc)
    I tested the Allnic phono on a friend’s amplifier and there was no hum, completely silent and perfect.
    So the problem is somewhere between my SPEC amplifier and the Allnic phono and the mains…?
    A friend of the electronics engineer told me that it could possibly come from the class D amp and PWM technology in combination with a very sensitive phono amp …
    Do you have any idea what could be the answer to this problem? I would like to keep the Allnic phono (as well as the SPEC of course) because it sounds beautiful.
    Thx for helping and advising.
    Kind regards, Marc

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Marc,
      Yes, I have noticed similar challenges when RIAA is installed on the Spec amplifiers. For some reason, it seems that the max output from the RIAA’s may overload the input of the amplifier, due to the special way Spec controls the volume.
      It is correct, too, that record players are extremely delicate equipment, where problems pop up out of nowhere, and being very difficult to cure. I see two possible solutions, though:
      1. Check cables from RIAA to M99, they may easily catch radiated noise, and amplify it in the Spec. Cables from professional audio are normally very good shielded, and may stop noise.
      2. Use in-line attenuators: http://www.rothwellaudioproducts.co.uk/html/attenuators.html, to take the output level down to acceptable level. More often than not, the RIAA’s I have tried, ended by overloading the input, and the Rothwell attenuator will remove that problem. Alternatively, if you have adjustable gain in your Allnico RIAA, switch it to lowest level.

      I have used 3 different Norwegian RIAA’s that did not have this problem, all of them having a low gain.

      Hope this may help, but note that noise from RIAA’s is quite common. Try also to move the RIAA as far away from the amplifier and other power supplies, as they tend to disturb RIAA’s very easily.

      Good luck!

      rognlien

      Like

    2. Hi again, Marc,
      I have checked on your RIAA, and I see that you have possibilities for gain adjustment, I’d try playing around a little with that first, so forget the Rothwell plugs I mentioned above.

      Secondly, try different placement. Your RIAA has (in my opinion) the absolute best solution, trafo coupling, but that is also the most sensitive for radiated noise from the surroundings. Placement is therefore crucial. I am quite sure you’ll be able to get the noise under control. Try moving it around while switched on (remember enough cable length! 🙂 ), and listen to how the noise changes. Move it as far away form the amplifier as you possibly can.

      rognlien

      Like

      1. Hi Rognlien,
        Tried all sorts of things and searched for a long time and the problem was eventually detected and solved by a friendly electrical technician. The culprit turned out to be a powerline WiFi that caused enormous network pollution elsewhere in the house and thus caused the hum in the probably sensitive Allnic phono. I never thought those devices could cause so much misery. Really hanks for all the tips, Marc

        Like

  7. Hei

    Har sjølv ein Spec RPA-W7EX effektforsterker. Styrer denne med Puffin DSP riaa. Høgtalere er Gallo ref 3.1, 88db/8ohm. Enig med det du beskriver her. Flott og behagelig lyd.
    Har litt samme utfordring som Marc; gain.
    Både gain og volum kan justeres med puffin dsp. Volumjustering på dsp går fra 0-100, men behagelig lyttevolum er på 10. Har stillt spec effektforsterkeren til -6db.
    Gain på dsp er satt til 40db (MM ortofon 2Mblack). Har du noen tanker om det vil dere negativt for lyd å sette ned MM gain?
    Alternativet kan vere å skaffe ekstern volumstyring (spec h-vc5) og la dsp stå i 100 med 40db gain.

    Like

    1. Det er som regel uproblematisk å sette ned gain med noen dB, her er det fritt fram å prøve litt. Benytter du Spec volumkontroll er ganske opplysende, bokstavelig talt, på den måten driver du forsterkeren optimalt.

      Tror jeg ville kjørt på den måten. Men sjekk med Spec importør om du får teste i eget oppsett med returrett, så slipper du å kaste penger ut vinduet.

      rognlien

      Like

  8. Hei og takk for svar. Får ta meg ein tur til Bebop og spørre om å få låne. Det er jo hyggelige folk! Har forstått at den volumstyringa kan styre fleire enheter, ved f.eks monoblokk oppsett som sikkert hadde vert det optimale.

    Like

  9. Har en 777 på hjemlån..
    Spiller på Merlin vsm med super bam og Black magic verson av høytalere.
    Har prøvd mye rør på disse.
    Men….gud bedre for en lyd!,

    Like

    1. Jøss, det var faktisk litt overraskende for meg! Hadde ikke trodd den lille 777 hadde noe fornuftig å tilby på Merlin, men det er stadig overraskelser i denne bransjen! 🙂

      rognlien

      Like

Leave a comment